LB’s Infamous Home Made Roast Beef Recipe

LB’s Infamous Home Made Roast Beef Recipe

Finding your-self short on dimes and time? Trying to feed a small army on a budget? Or, are you in that category that likes to cook all their meals for the week on Sunday? For me, it’s about the quest for the ultimate sandwich! What pray tell thee is the perfect sandwich?

The epitome of a perfect sandwich starts with the meat. I like to think of myself as a connoisseur of great taste at least as far as beef is concerned. Why do you think I write this blog for CHB? It’s the best beef there is! Anyway, I digress. But, my obsession with the quest for the quintessential roast beef sandwich started several years ago, as I found myself working more, traveling more, and less and less interested in fast-food. I found myself as a sandwich hobbyist electing to create monstrous sandwich works of art that Tim, the tool man Taylor, would beat his chest and make cave man noises over. My search has culminated with the recipe I am about to share, and it is one I hope you’ll cherish as much as I do.

I use an eye of round roast cut for my roast beef. If you need help finding Certified Hereford Beef near you, then use this link: http://www.herefordbeef.org/where-to-buy/ to locate your nearest CHB supplier. If you can’t find an eye of roast, you can use a bottom round or top round to substitute.

For a classic deli style roast beef you will need the following ingredients:

Olive Oil

Onion Powder

Garlic Powder

Coarse Pepper

Kosher Salt

First, coat the roast with the olive oil all over, this will give a base for the other ingredients to stick to. Next, cover the roast with the onion and garlic powder. Then, the salt, and save the pepper for last. Make sure you get a good covering on the ends as well. Once you have completed, then it should look something like the picture below. Roast Beef

To bake the roast, place it on a foiled cover cooking sheet. It also needs to sit on something that will allow to meat to breathe on the bottom and the juices of cooking to drain. This is where my Aggie engineering shows off. I just use my grilling vegetable tray and flip it upside down to elevate the roast.

Now, to cook the roast you will want to pre-heat your oven to 500 degrees. If you are striving for that medium rare look for your roast beef, then you will want to cook the meat for about fifty minutes. For the first twenty minutes, cook at 500 degrees, then reduce to 300 degrees for thirty minutes. To make your roast beef more well-done then when you reduce it to 300, leave it in the oven a little longer.

Remember, you can check your beef status by using a meat thermometer and the following guidelines.

120 F = rare
126 F = medium-rare  
134 F = medium
150 F = medium-well
160 F = well done

Here is what mine usually looks like after cooking for the fifty minutes. This one might of temped a bit higher than usual, because I got caught up watching football. Seriously, I’m stoked there’s something worth watching on tv again! RoastBeef

After the roast is out, I usually let it sit to cool for about twenty minutes. Then, it’s time to slice with a sharp knife. Remember to slice it thinly, and to slice across the grain of the meat. See the picture below. It’s so easy a caveman like me can do it! Plus, not to brag, but it’s pretty phenomenal. I usually slice mine and place into separate bags to put away for sandwiches during the week. I’ve found it’s a great way to reduce eating out and to monitor portion control. RoastBeef

Once you’ve mastered the classic deli style like the one above, then branch out and have some fun by making the recipe your own. My tastes can vary a little on the spicy so I sometimes change it up and use Fiesta Brand’s Fajita or Taco Seasoning to give a little extra kick. Or, just a few dabs of their Cayenne Seasoning can completely change the experience.

 

Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do and remember-Certified Hereford Beef makes it the best!

Adios,

LB

 

About whiteface1881

Certified Hereford Beef was established to provide the best tasting beef to the great U.S.A. The American Hereford Assn. was established in 1881 and it's that tradition that helps us build upon our Excellence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

