So Much To Be Thankful For

Image

 

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

It’s almost that time, again! No, not that time- not time for reindeer, Santa, elves, and way too many bright lights. It’s the holiday before Christmas…the one that major chain stores seem to forget about as they wrap up Halloween and roll into Jingle Bells. What happened to remembering the Pilgrims who gave thanks with the Indians for what the land provided? Is that still taught in school, or has it been side- lined to make way for federal mandated testing? It seems a travesty that a holiday with such special meaning is an afterthought- present only for the next day Black Friday sales it brings. Ok, I know that’s not the case for most of us, but it sure seems like the country is heading that way.

Thanksgiving for me brings more meaning with each passing year. I learned a long time ago the value of family and friends and I’ve cherished many a Thanksgiving Day counting my blessings with them. This year is no different as there are quite a number of things to be thankful for as we gather together.

First off, I’m thankful for some ornery cows. Why just this past weekend with a wintery cold spell moving in, my brother and I found ourselves being called away from a college football game watching party to go round up some mama cows that chose the other side of the fence to graze during a sleet storm. Our team wasn’t winning and wasn’t playing up to their potential so getting away from the drudgery of losing was a blessing, even if it involved spotlighting for mama cows in the wet, dark, bone chilling cold. I’m still thankful to have them, and to be able to provide a great source of protein for the best country in the world!

Secondly, I’m thankful to be living in the greatest country in the world, and to have the opportunities that we do every day. I know she’s not perfect, and at times we sometimes find ourselves frustrated with what we see going on, compounded by the lackadaisical approach of our government. However, we still have more than any other country, and the sky is the limit for our future. It all comes down to common sense and votes!

Third, I’m thankful for the American soldier. With many a family member having served and several still serving, it is a blessing to know someone stands out there and protects our freedoms and ways of life. I’ve said it time and time again, “If it wasn’t for the American soldier, I couldn’t be who I am.” I’m pretty sure you couldn’t be either. Say a prayer for those who aren’t spending their Thanksgiving with family because they are making sure we have a Thanksgiving.

Finally, I’m thankful for my friends and family. Life is never a straight wonderful road. It wasn’t designed to be. It comes down to the ones we loved and the ones who loved us that make our paths complete. I’m thankful I have a family that loves me and friends who are there through thick and thin. If I ever had a chance to do life over again I wouldn’t change those that mean the most to me. I’m thankful for each of them and what they’ve brought into my life.

Just remember-that as you gather around those perfect Thanksgiving Hereford briskets or steaks (like I wouldn’t go there?) to take a moment, look around the table, and just be thankful. Enjoy your time with the ones you love, be thankful for the things that bring joy to your heart, and remember the meaning of this big, little holiday.

Certified Hereford Beef wishes everyone safe travels and Happy Thanksgiving!

 

Thanks,

LB

About whiteface1881

Certified Hereford Beef was established to provide the best tasting beef to the great U.S.A. The American Hereford Assn. was established in 1881 and it's that tradition that helps us build upon our Excellence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

